Alligators & Apollos

Heyhey!

By now, the first two days in Orlando are over already. We’ve done some pretty cool stuff, which I’ll tell you about later. By the way, I wanted to post a blog last night, but I was really tired and I thought sleeping was just a little more important than writing on here. (I’m sorry ;p)

Anyway, yesterday we went to Gatorland. And yeah, as the name already suggests, it’s a park full of alligators. I loved it, it was really cool! Alligators are pretty scary things, but it’s so cool to see these really ancient animals. And the thought that they live here in Florida added something to the experience. Honestly such a strange thought that these animals live in the wild here. (I saw one today! We were driving back to the hotel and I saw one in the water next to the road!!)

Today we went to the Kennedy Space Center. From there, the Apollo missions were launched. We went on a bus tour and we saw the sites where these spacecrafts were launched into space. The most famous Apollo is – of course – Apollo 11; the Apollo that made the very first moon landing in 1969. So we saw the place from where the first man who ever stood on the moon departed. I thought that was pretty cool.

Besides doing these trips, we also have a lot of free time. I’ve seen quite a bit of the Olympic Games, although we missed the first Dutch gold medal this afternoon. I’ve also missed all of the field hockey games, but that’s partly because they don’t show them on the TV here. Unless the US is involved, they don’t really care about it. That’s a little unfortunate, but I’ve seen some nice things, so it’s okay.

This afternoon, when we came back form the Kennedy Space Center, the first ‘preparations’ for the World Championship started. After the nice days we had, it almost felt like a holiday, but we’re really here for the Championship. We registered and then we did a quick keyboard check. It is not much, but it made me remember that I have to compete tomorrow and the nerves are slowly creeping up now.

Tomorrow is ‘the big day’ and I’m actually looking forward to it. I’m nervous, but it’s an amazing experience and I’m so grateful that I get to be here. Tomorrow, I have to do the test at 14.30, so I’ll have to wait for quite some time. I don’t like that very much, because I will probably get a little nervous, but I’ll be okay. It’s a nice challenge and it’s something I haven’t done before and I really like that!

byee!

Leave a comment